keynotes & speakers

Nancy Dickey150Nancy Dickey, M.D. – Keynote

Dr. Nancy W. Dickey is a professor in the Dept. of Family and Community Medicine and the Dept. of Medical Humanities in the College of Medicine, and a professor in the Dept. of Health Policy and Management in the School of Rural Public Health, Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC).

Dr. Dickey was president of the TAMHSC and vice chancellor for health affairs for The Texas A&M University System between 2002 and 2012. Under her leadership, the health science center grew in the number of programs and number of graduates, expanded its research programs and extended its service to the citizens of Texas. She served as interim dean of the TAMHSC-College of Medicine from June 2000 until Dec. 31, 2001. Dr. Dickey is a past president and the first woman ever to be elected president of the AMA. She was the founding program director of the Family Medicine Residency of the Brazos Valley.

She is the recipient of numerous awards, including six honorary doctorate degrees in both science and law. She was elected to the prestigious Institute of Medicine in 2007 and to Texas’s Women’s Hall of Fame in 2010. Dr. Dickey serves on numerous committees, both locally and nationally, writes for several medical and health policy journals, and is a frequent speaker at professional and civic organizations around the country and world.

Gregory Abrams, Esq., General Counsel for the Institute for Medical Quality, is also a private practice attorney for physicians and medical staffs.

David E.J. Bazzo, M.D. is Clinical Professor of Family Medicine at the UC San Diego School of Medicine and is Director of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Programs for PACE. He is also Co-Director of the Primary Care Core Clerkship at the UC San Diego School of Medicine.

Shannon Chavez, M.D., Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the UC San Diego School of Medicine, is Chair of the Physician Well-being Committee of the UC San Diego Medical Center. Dr. Chavez is a teacher, mentor, and assessor in the PACE Program.

Donald David, M.D. is a Clinical Professor of Medicine at UCLA. Dr. David serves as Chair of the Division of Gastroenterology at City of Hope in Duarte, CA. He also has served as Chief of Staff, MEC Chair, Credentials Committee Chair and Quality Committee Chair. Currently he is the Chief Patient Safety Officer and Chair of the Patient Safety Committee and Clinical Director of the CIS (electronic medical record) team at City of Hope.

Carol Havens, M.D. is the Regional Director of Clinical Education with The Permanente Medical Group, practices Family Medicine and Addiction Medicine at the Chemical Dependency Recovery Program at the KP’s Sacramento Medical Center and is the current President of the California Academy of Family Physicians. Dr Havens is a past chair of the IMQ/CMA Committee on Continuing Medical Education and now serves as a consultant to the committee and a surveyor. She also is a member of the board of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.

Darla Holland, M.D., an internist from Yorba Linda, CA is the Chairperson of the Regional Credentials and Privileges Committee for Kaiser in Southern California. She has been an IMQ surveyor since 1998 and has served on numerous committees such as the Pharmacy and Therapeutics and Performance Improvement.

Lois Killewich, M.D. is Professor of Vascular Surgery and Chief, ad Interim, of the Section of Vascular Surgery at the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston. She is the holder of the Leonard and Marie Louise Aronsfeld Rosoff Professorship in Surgery and the Medical Director of the Vascular Laboratory at UTMB.

John A. Kusske, M.D., is Past Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery at UC Irvine and Professor Emeritus of Neurological Surgery at the UC Irvine School of Medicine. Dr. Kusske, a national expert on EMTALA and administrative issues, is the current Chair of the IMQ Board of Directors.

William Norcross, M.D. is Clinical Professor of Family Medicine at the UC San Diego School of Medicine, and is Founder and Director of the UC San Diego PACE Program. He has been a member of the faculty since 1977, and was Residency Director in Family Medicine from 1986 to 1999.

Barbara Paul, M.D. is the Sr. Vice President and CMO of Community Health Systems in Nashville, TN. Dr. Paul is responsible for maintaining and enhancing the company’s relationship with affiliated physicians, developing physician leaders, and providing strategic direction to enhance the quality of care in one hundred twenty six CHS-affiliated hospitals around the country.

R. Christopher Searles, M.D. is Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry and Family Medicine at the UC San Diego School of Medicine, and is Course Director of the UC San Diego PACE Professional Boundaries Program. He is Medical Director of the UCSD Family Health and Wellness Center. Formerly, Dr. Searles was the Director of the UC San Diego Combined Family Medicine & Psychiatry Residency Program.

Rocky Wilcox, J.D. serves as the Vice President and General Counsel for the Texas Medical Association in Austin, Texas. He is responsible for the legal affairs of the Texas Medical Association. He has served as Chair of the American Society of Medical Association Counsel and as Chair of the Health Law Section of the State Bar of Texas. He co-chaired the first American Bar Association/American Medical Association co-sponsored symposium on “Representing Physician Interest.”

Giovanna Zerbi, Psy.D., C.P.R.P. is Director of Behavioral Programs of the UC San Diego PACE. She specializes in impulse control disorders and is a Certified Provider in both Domestic Violence Prevention and Anger Management.

Comments are closed.